Europeans are working, Poles are studying.

Polish young people enter the job market later than their European peers. According to the latest Eurostat data, in 2007, the age at which every second young Polish were on the labour market was 22 years. The average for the entire European Union was two years lower in comparison with the leaders of the ranking have remained up to seven years back.
Countries in which the first work undertaken at the earliest, are: Ireland, Denmark and the Netherlands. The result of 22 years Polish youth has placed almost at the end of the rate. Start on the labour market followed later in only five countries. Poland was also among the countries in which professional debut ever is later. While compared to 2000, the rate for the entire European Union has not changed, then in Poland increased by one year. How to explain “reluctance” of Polish youth? The first reason is that for extended learning time. Most young Poles decide to continue higher education studies. Most drop out at the same work, even when studying evenings or part time. Time student carefree extend further adapted to Polish conditions the practice of Western Europe. Increasingly popular in our country called. gap year, separating the time of study from full-time job. Discourage the very stringent rules. Before 16 age can only work for those engaged in cultural activities, artistic, sports or advertising. Signing a contract is preceded by a series of formalities. Fewer restrictions applicable to the employment of those who have completed 16 years. After obtaining the consent of the State Labor Inspectorate, they can do “light work”, which should not interfere with the discharge by a teenager from the school. In practice, this means a lower weekly working time. During the holidays it is a maximum of 35 hours per week. During the school year – no more than 12 hours.

3 thoughts on “Europeans are working, Poles are studying.

  1. When I look at my own Curriculum I have to admit that I will start my own working life pretty late. If I just focus on students I have to say, that on the one hand german students, like I am, are forced by employing companies to be 20 years old, have a lot of working experience and at least a masters degree. But all this cannot work togehter. I finished my A-levels at the age of 19 as it is expected from you and started studying immediately. Now I am in my sixth Semester and still have 2 semesters left to receive my diploma (almost equivalent to a Masters degree). During this time I’ve already been 2 Semesters abroad. So finally when I am entering the job market I will be 24 years old without significant working experience, except of some Internships. Moreover one has to mention that all male german students have to serve civil service before they study, so they are even a year older then me before they start to apply for jobs.
    Additionally the studying time increases in germany because of the fact, that students have to pay a semi-annual fee which is about 600 Euros. To cover the cost of the fee, living and spare time activities most of the students have to work beside their studies. Is this the case, they have less time to concentrate on their assignments, test and work for university what they should mainly do.
    In summery I just can say, that if there is no significant change in the german education system, as it was made in Poland by enforcing “light work”, we germans will be faced with the same problem as the polish people were: Never ending studies and older getting job-entrees.

    Reply
  2. I am studying in Austria. I have choosen the way to start working at the age of nineteen, after my school leaving examination. Now I am 30 years old and through my hole “worklife” I did some further education, first some specific courses for accounting and controlling and now I am studying business and laws beside my job. Well, it’s not the easiest way, but I really like it!

    I think it is not that important at which age you enter into the world of working. It is more important to collect many different skills like a semester abroad or a kind of practicum because it will help you to find a job after or already during your studies.

    Reply
  3. The fact that polish are entering the labour market at about 22 is not so surprising for me, because in Latvia it’s more or less the same. Of course it depends on person. I started to work at 14, for first three years part time job during the holidays, then something different and more challenging for me. During the studies the maximum hours which I can work is not more than 25-30, but the jobs which have so short working hours are usually nothing special, so now for almost one year I haven’t worked. I would like to find some job in my specialization, but as in all EU countries, one of the main things is your experience in this sector, but it’s pretty impossible to get that.
    Maybe it’s good that we can’t have enough time and get good jobs now, because in that case we wouldn’t finish our studies – we would have good job with average salary.
    Actually it’s like a tree with two ends – from one side it’s good to study and then work, from the other – whatever you’re studying only in your job you will face all problems and then get smarter by finding solutions for those problems that you will face.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

