European Free Trade Area

European Free Trade Association – EFTA) was established in the year 1960 by the seven Western European countries which were trying to protect their own economic interests. Their effort is not intended to be liable to any deeper mutual political and economic integration. Their aim was to liberalize bilateral trade in industrial products in the form of a free trade (and not a customs union and common market as was the case of the EEC), contribute to the formation of a market that would cover the whole  Europe and promote the development of world trade. The countries that signed the ‘Stockholm Convention’, which entered into force on 3 May 1960 and are also founding members of EFTA are: United Kingdom, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland and Portugal. Later they joined Island (1961) and Finland (1986). Liechtenstein, which was attached to the EFTA already as part of the Swiss customs territory, was granted full membership in the year 1991.

The objectives of EFTA were generally less than those of EEC – the goal is to gradually reduce tariffs on most industrial production. However, countries pursue different economic policies and the issue of tariff preference different strategies.

The primary objective of the association – the elimination of tariffs on bilateral trade in industrial products – EFTA made earlier than planned. However, the EFTA countries are increasingly difficult to resist the merits of EEC. Already in the year 1973 there was a convertion of  Great Britain and Denmark, followed by the Portugal in 1986. In 1995 joined the EU Finland, Austria and Sweden.

EFTA since 1972 maintains close relations with the EU Free Trade Agreement, signed in the time allowed to make during the 70th years between the countries largely eliminated tariffs on trade in industrial products. It finally culminated into a comprehensive agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA), which since. 1994 expanded the overall rules of the EU single market on the EFTA countries except Switzerland.



Katarína Hurkalová


2 thoughts on “European Free Trade Area

  1. From a Norwegian person point of view I thought this article was clarifying when it comes to EFTA. As you say in the article Norway is a member of EFTA and EEC, but not European Union. There is from time to time new discusses whether Norway should apply for membership or not. Some of the main reasons why 72% of the population says no to the EU is that EU restricts Norway’s national politics, and by becoming a member you will lose the possibility to affect your own policy and gouvernment. Membership in EFTA, EEC and Schengen area however makes the Norwegian government adapt many of the EU-laws.

    As most Norwegians I belief that Norway have good enough agreements with the EU, so that it is not necessary today to become a member. I think by having these agreements Norway are better without. Maybe in the future when the effects of the economic crisis have degreased, and the Euro zone are managing better maybe we Norwegians will change our point of view on the EU.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s